Fetal Pig Dissection Lab

*Warning: This blog post contains content and images not suitable for all viewers. Image content includes pictures of a pig dissection. Please continue at your own discretion*

IMG_3485In class last Thursday and Friday, we got the opportunity to dissect a fetal pig. My lab partners were Mana and Grace, and I was the primary person in charge of the actual dissection process. At first, I’ll be honest, I was unnerved and even a bit disgusted at the idea of dissecting anything, much less a cute baby pig. I had managed to accidentally (yes, accidentally, not just “conveniently”) miss every single animal dissection in my entire academic career up until this point, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. However, after the first few steps of the process, I began to get the hang of the dissection process. I’m a big animal rights activist so it was a bit tough for me, but knowing that the pigs died in the name of science, research, and discovery put my mind at ease!

I found the pig dissection to be very interesting. I know that the anatomy of a pig is very similar to human anatomy, and it was really cool to see exactly what body systems and processes happen inside of us as well. I learned some things that I never knew before – like the fact that the diaphragm entirely separates the chest cavity from the abdominal cavity, and the fact that the trachea is lined with cartilage rings to maintain its shape and keep the windpipe open! After the initially dissection stage, our group determined that the gender of our pig was male. The dissection went smoothly (despite the less-than-appetizing smell that came along with it), and we all learned a great deal from it!

Blog Signature

6 thoughts on “Fetal Pig Dissection Lab

  1. Hey there Madison! I loved the honesty in this post, it was hard to be around those pigs. So glad you could make it to this dissection so we could learn about the diaphragm and trachea too! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

