Website Reflection

I’ve always been inclined to use technology, and this blog for my AP Bio class was the perfect opportunity for me. I learned a lot about myself and others through the maintenance of this blog. First, I learned that I’m actually fairly proficient in coding and web design, and in creating a visually appealing blog. I tend to be way more motivated to do certain things when they’re visually appealing, like color-coding a to do list, for example!

Second, I learned that if you put in the time and effort to create something noteworthy, people will notice. My blog has gotten a good deal of traffic over this school year, to my great surprise. When looking at the statistics (which I only just recently discovered), I noticed that my blog post about an onion root tip lab we did in class had gotten a considerable amount of traffic. I realized too that the incoming traffic was from students performing searches for lab question answers!

Third, I learned that creating a digital portfolio of your efforts in a class is both manageable (a website is considerably lighter than several binders and textbooks) and rewarding. All of your hard work is available in one place, never water-stained, ripped, crumpled, or lost in the move. It’s been so rewarding to be able to look back at the effort I put into creating this blog, and knowing it is just the beginning.

Blog Signature

One thought on “Website Reflection

  1. I love the design of your blog. It is so visually appealing and well organized, which makes it easy for the viewer to enjoy your site. I have loved watching it take shape and evolve over the year. I hope you choose to continue to post in some way. I am so excited to hear about your trip this summer!!!!

Leave a Reply

